Friday, March 2, 2012

Seaoil High School All-Star Game this weekend

It is interesting that there really has not been a true showcase of the best high school players in the country. All we know of them are their exploits if you have seen them live in person in the different leagues. Now, the people behind the National Basketball Training Center will help you get to know the players in a first of its kind Philippine spectacle, the Seaoil High School All-Star Game, which will take place on Sunday, 11am at the Ynares Gym in Pasig.

Hundreds of graduating High School basketball standouts tried out, but only 30 were selected to participate. Six of those come from the provinces as recommended by the locals in their respective areas.The 30 names were then ranked by a group of basketball experts, which included Ato Badolato and current Youth Team coach Olsen Racela, and split evenly into two-15 man teams, which will be coached by the staff from either National University or San Beda College.

The event is intended to be about the kids and for the kids, as remarked by NBTC Technical Director Alex Compton. This is different from the Nike Elite Camps that had been shown previously as the Elite is more of instructional and that was composed of different age groups, unlike this particular event, which is tailored for incoming collegiate freshmen.

In addition, Rajko Toroman, who helmed SMART-Gilas previously and now serves as consultant with the SMC franchises, will also have a session with the 30 players.

It is expected that coaches and scouts from the different colleges and universities will be attending this event to check out the players, some of which have already declared where they will be attending college. There are still others who remain undecided as to where they will be pursuing further studies and take their athletic talents to.

Here are the players who will be participating in the 1st Seaoil High School All-Star Game

Light.                                                                  Dark
FRANCIS ABARCAR                             THOMAS TORRES
JOHN BOO                                              PAUL NIELES
KIM CINCO                                            JERON TENG
JJ ALEJANDRO                                       JASON LIGAD
DARYL NAZARENO                               KYLE SUAREZ
IAN CARLO VALDEZ                             GABRIEL REYES
MCJOUR LUIB                                        RALPH NAPA
ARIEL BASAS JR.                                   VAN ADAM ABATAYO
KEVIN BAYTAN                                     RICHIE VILLARUZ
BRIAN ILARDE                                       GIDEON BABILONIA
RALPH TANSINGCO                             ANTONIO BONSUBRE
TOMAS RAMOS                                     EDRIC ESTACIO
JULIUS CADAVIS.                                  JANMER GABITO
PAOLO JABINES                                    PAUL RAZEL RUBIN
RANDOLPH TORIÑO                            DAVE WILSON YU

Here is the picture of some of the players participating in the game, which was taken during their press conference held at the National Sports Grill yesterday. Joining them are current NU head coach Eric Altamirano, Alex Compton and SBP Executive Director Sonny Barrios.

1 comment: